Japanese
 Home > News Releases > A strong aftershock of "The 2011 off the Pacific coast of Tohoku Earthquake" occurred Thursday 7 April

A strong aftershock of "The 2011 off the Pacific coast of Tohoku Earthquake" occurred Thursday 7 April



    A strong earthquake of magnitude of 7.1 occurred Thursday 7 April, off the Pacific coast of the northeastern part of the Japanese main land (Tohoku Region).This earthquake is regarded as an aftershock of "The 2011 off the Pacific coast of Tohoku Earthquake".

Earthquake Summary

Date and Time:7 April 2011 23:32 JST (14:32 UTC)
Magnitude:7.1 (interim value)
Hypocenter:N38.2, E141.9 (40km E off Oshika Peninsula) Depth 66km (interim value)
Mechanism:Reverse fault type with WNW-ESE compressional axis (by CMT analysis)
Earthquake Early Warning:Issued 7.4 seconds after the detection of the first P-wave at the nearest seismic station
JMA Seismic Intensity:
6+ (Max) Kurihara City, Sendai City in Miyagi Prefecture
6- or weaker Observed nationwide from Hokkaido to Chugoku
Tsunami Warnings and Advisories:
Date and Time Action Number of Areas (Total : 66 areas)
Warning
(3m or higher)
Warning
(Up to 2m)
Advisory
(About 0.5m)
07 April 2011 23:34 JST (14:34 UTC) Issued 0 1 4
08 April 2011 00:55 JST (15:55 UTC) Lifted 0 0 0
Observed Tsunami: None



Activities of Aftershock

  • This earthquake is regarded as an aftershock of "The 2011 off the Pacific coast of Tohoku Earthquake".
  • Near the epicenter, maximum JMA Seismic Intensity of future aftershocks may be 5- or higher.


Notes on Disaster Prevention

  • In the area where strong shaking was observed, keep vigilant to tremors by aftershocks which may cause landslides and house collapses.
  • Many places could be dangerous after tsunami and earthquakes. Be cautious and ensure adequate safety on your way back from the evacuation center, by following instructions and directions of the local emergency officers.
  • Stay away from coasts when tsunami warnings/advisories are issued.

- Back to the top page of News releases